» Show All     «Prev «1 ... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 ... 46» Next»     » Slide Show

Porthleven Town Band History

The History of Porthleven Town Band
Porthleven Town Band traces its history back to 1867 when a
fife and drum band was in existence in the town. Later, in 1875,
it became a brass band and was admired in its yellow braided
tunics and caps, and red striped trousers! During that period
the band attended many brass contests and its favourite
performance arena at the turn of the 20th century was on the
pier at Porthleven.

Since then, the band has ditched the strip uniform and, these
days, prefers to be known for its quality of sound and music.
Since the appointment of Francis Evans as Musical Director
in late 2000 the band has gone from strength to strength. The
Senior Band has an almost full membership of twenty seven
players and with the conception of the Training Band in
September 2001, the training ground for more Senior players
is set. The band operates a teaching programme, which
includes music and theory tuition for absolute beginners,
intermediate group and a band rehearsal. The Training Band
recently won the Young Band Class in their first contest outing
at the Cornwall County Music Festival.

There is no precise date for the band’s formation but it is
believed to have started between 1857 and 1865.

1875 The band converted to a brass band.

1883 Hugh J Sedgeman was one of the earliest known band

Porthleven band became part of village life playing at annual
festivals and celebrations.

1884 The band were invited to play at the opening of the
Bickford-Smith Institute.

Band Masters and Musical Directors – unsure when MDs
were introduced.

1883 Hugh J Sedgeman 1987/? Tony G Clemence
1887 N Pentecost 1989/92 E Francis Ralph
1888 Amos Blight 1992/3 Peter Goldsworthy
1927/8 C Orchard 1993/5 Temp MDs Howard
1929/31 W Roberts Taylor, Edward Ashton &
Albert Hargreaves unsure of Alan Moore
the actual years 1995/7 W A Barry
1937 R Penrose Tresidder
?/1951 Telfer Rule 1997 Tony Richards
1952/69 Ernest H Bawden 2000/5 Francis Evans
1970/81 W Roger Pearce 2006/8 Stephen Wearne
1982 Alan Richards 2008/12 Francis Ralph
1984/7 Henry Medlin 2012 + Tom Bassett

see full history

» Show All     «Prev «1 ... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 ... 46» Next»     » Slide Show